Book slump

Not the easiest of reads but definitely wintry enough in some parts to make up for the lack of cold weather recently.
Not the easiest of reads but definitely wintry enough in some parts to make up for the lack of cold weather recently.

I think I’ve been having a bit of a book slump (and a blogging slump, too, by the looks of things, since my last post was in February). The last book I finished was The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros and it was a really short book. Granted, I’m currently making my way through Dr Zhivago and Wuthering Heights and neither are what one would call ‘light reads’. It’s not that I’m not enjoying them but I feel like I’m not enjoying them as much as I should be. I feel the urge to start another book but I’ve already got far too many on the go. All I really want, right now, is a long weekend with lots of rain and maybe a bit of thunder and lightning, when I can curl up with a blanket and read the whole day away. It feels like the ideal kind of holiday. I daren’t hope for snow. We never get any snow.

There really wasn’t much point to this post. I just felt like writing something here and pondering about the state of my life. In that way, it’s like one of my journal entries except it’s legible. In this time that I’m using to write this entry, I could be reading Pasternak or Bronte. Sometimes, I wonder if I’m focusing too much on my reading challenge and not on the books themselves. But I must say, without the Goodreads Reading Challenge, I probably would still be stuck in my total reading hiatus when I read nothing but fashion magazines and chicklit books. (Nothing wrong with chicklit, but they’re like sugar; you can’t have a healthy diet with just sugar.)

Published by F_Le_Rulz

I'm an unpublished writer, who, so far, has not met any success apart from on Fanfiction.net. Currently working on my first novel. I've been saying this for the past ten years. With different novels. I think you can put together the story. I'm prone to ranting, getting too involved in things that I shouldn't be involved about, and I'm trying *really* hard to be rational. I don't always succeed.

Leave a comment